Online is Where It’s At for Shorts!

Starting August 20th through September 4th,’s first annual “ShortList” Online Film Festival will be showcasing 12 award-winning short films hand-picked from the world’s top film festivals during the past year. The shorts will be hosted on’s website and via it’s mobile platform as well as on MTV’s film sites: and “The festival is part of TheWrap’s mission to shine a light on the most exciting talent in filmmaking,” said Sharon Waxman, CEO and Founder of TheWrap. “Film has moved to the mobile space, and we are excited to bring these high quality shorts to our audience and to our readers in the heart of the entertainment industry.”’s ShortList festival is done in partnership with MTV and Cinedigm and represents the best of the best in “shorts” filmmaking which is what is being consumed online and via mobile devices and where today’s young filmmaker is starting out. Awards Announced Live on September 4th There will be one award for the Audience Choice and a Jury Prize chosen by the Industry jury (below). Winners will be announced live on ePix, Viacom’s film channel, as well as on one of the MTV screens. The winners will also receive a “first look” deal at a leading independent film studio also to be announced on September 4. “The ShortList” 5-member jury panel is comprised of industry heavyweights: Howard Cohen, Co-President of Roadside Attractions Cassian Elwes, producer, Evolution Entertainment Lynette Howell, producer, (Blue Valentine, Half Nelson) Zachary Quinto, actor and producer (Star Trek, Heroes, Margin Call) Michelle Satter, Founding Director, Sundance Institute’s Feature Film Program The festival is programmed by Nancy Collet, previously head of programming for AFI and a Film Festival consultant and the announcement of who made the cut will be public on the 20th of August. Subscribers to TheWrap’s First Take newsletter will receive one entry per day embedded in their morning email, where they can vote. Viewers can also screen the films at any time during the festival: and vote from August 20 thru September 4. We are looking forward to seeing who are nominated and will be sharing them with you in the coming weeks.
Featured sponsors